Pujya Guruji to Receive National Eminence Award on Dec. 25, 2012

  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home1/chinmay3/public_html/modules/views/views.module on line 879.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home1/chinmay3/public_html/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter.inc on line 589.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_submit() should be compatible with views_handler::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home1/chinmay3/public_html/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter.inc on line 589.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter_boolean_operator::value_validate() should be compatible with views_handler_filter::value_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home1/chinmay3/public_html/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter_boolean_operator.inc on line 149.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_validate() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_validate(&$form, &$form_state) in /home1/chinmay3/public_html/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_row.inc on line 135.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_submit(&$form, &$form_state) in /home1/chinmay3/public_html/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_row.inc on line 135.

Dear Chinmaya Family,

Hari Om! Central Chinmaya Mission Trust is pleased to announce that Pujya
Guruji Swami Tejomayananda-ji has been chosen by the South Indian Education
Society (SIES) to receive the Shri Chandrasekarendra Saraswati National
Eminence Award (NEA) for Spiritual Leadership on the eve of December 25,
2012 at Shanmukhananda Hall in Mumbai.

This function will be telecast live on Sankara TV from 6.00 P.M. onwards on
25th December, 2012.  We will inform you if it is telecast live on any
other TV Channels.

In honour of Shri Chandrasekarendra Saraswati, Mahaswami and 68th
Shankaracharya of Kanchi Kamakoti Peetam, SEIS has been annually bestowing
the NEA on the Mahaswami's approximate aradhana day for the past 14 years to
select Indian leaders and achievers who have devoted their lifetime to the
causes of serving India and spreading Sanatana Dharma. Recipients are chosen
by the NEA Committee from the four fields of public leadership, community
leadership or social service, science and technology, religious thought or
prachara seva. Each recipient is gifted a citation, silver lamp, silver
scroll, shawl, and Rs. 250,000. (Rupees Two Lakhs fifty thousand only)

Pujya Guruji was unanimously selected by the NEA Committee, of which the
Chief Patron and Patron are His Holiness Jagadguru Jayendra Saraswati
Swamigal and His Holiness Shankara Vijayendra Saraswati Swamigal,
respectively. In his congratulatory notification letter to Pujya Guruji,
SEIS President V. Shankar wrote, "As the Head of Chinmaya Mission worldwide,
you have steadfastly pursued [His Holiness] Swami Chinmayananda's grand
spiritual and organizational vision. Swami Chinmayananda was far ahead of
his [time]. . . . You have fully justified the confidence that the Master
had in you. . . . The Chinmaya International Residential School in
Coimbatore, the Chinmaya Centre of World Understanding in New Delhi, the
Chinmaya International Foundation in Kochi, the [Chinmaya] Heritage Centre
[in] Chennai, [and] Chinmaya Vibhooti [in] . . . Pune are testimonies to
your devotion and dedication.  Your jnana yajnas have inspired countless .
..  listeners to realize and understand the purpose of life, and [have]
brought. . . transformation in them. Your gentle, affable nature and
accessibility to all remind us of [His Holiness] Swami Chinmayananda.
Indeed, [Chinmaya Mission] has spread its activities far and wide under your
leadership to . . . benefit mankind . . . ."

This year's other three NEA recipients are Amitabh Bachchan for community
leadership, Dr. Sam Pitroda for achievement in science and technology, and
Sushma Swaraj for public leadership. The NEA has been previously conferred
on 48 distinguished Indians, including Former President Dr. A.P.J. Abdul

As aptly said by various Chinmaya Mission acharyas and devotees, the NEA is
formally recognizing what we in Chinmaya Mission have known for so long.


Share this